Books on my to read list…

Hello everybody,

Thought I would share with you some books that are on my to read list! I only really started reading novels at the end of my first year of University. I was never a big reader while at school, and i’m not the type of person who always has a book on the go, but, when I see a book I think looks interesting, I dive right into it.

I love reading crime/thriller style books. I’ve never been a massive fan of the romance genre; I always find them really cheesy and obvious if i’m honest. I prefer a book which makes me think, wait, whats going to happen? Who did it? What happened with this? and other questions such as that. A book that was perfect for that was The Girl on the Train which I did a full review of. That book was brilliant, and it might explain to you more about the genre of books I love.

So, what books am I looking forward to reading?

unnamed-8
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the bright places seemed to have come out on every Youtubers channel, and Instagram/Twitter saying how good the book was and how it was worth reading. It’s a young adult novel, and you can definitely tell that just from the language, but, I’m about 100 pages in, and it is very good. The characters are great, and the storyline is amazing. I think this is the first book i’ve seen where they openly talk about mental health. It’s amazing that the author has created a story like this, and I think it’s great for school aged children to read, as well as adults. Definitely worth a read.

Goodreads: 4.2/5

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

The film Gone Girl came out and I thought it was one of the best written stories/scripts  that I had seen in a while. Then I saw that it was based on a book and new I would have to get it. I’ve tried reading this book twice but just couldn’t get into it in all honesty, which was a shame because I thought the film was so well done. But, I will read it one day, and hopefully it picks up after the first couple of chapters.

Goodreads: 4/5

I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

I found this in a local bookshop, and the reviews were incredible! It’s the first book from author Terry Hayes, and it’s been a bestseller. It’s nearly 900 pages long, and is described as a crime/thriller/spy fiction- which is right up my street! Terry Hayes second novel will be released at the end of this year, so I should really finish this book asap!

Goodreads: 4.2/5

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

I remember watching the film Memoirs of A Geisha and finding it so incredibly sad. I think the story is beautiful, and the actors are phenomenal, but the story is pretty deep. I saw the book one day at a second hand store and thought i’d give it a go. I haven’t got around to reading it yet because i’m certain it’s going to make me cry, but, I really can’t wait to read this and see if their are similarities with the film or not.

Goodreads: 4.1/5

A Life In Parts by Bryan Cranston

I love biography’s; hearing about someone’s life from them directly is a great privilege. I absolutely loved Ozzy Osbourne’s, and Gordon Ramsay’s biographies, so i’m excited to read Bryan Cranston. I grew up watching Malcom in the Middle and loved it, so, when Breaking Bad came out I was skeptical to see the man who played Hal play such a dark character, but, it is without a doubt one of my favourite series of all time. Bryan Cranston was incredible. I can’t wait to read this!

Goodreads: 4.2/5

The Woman Who Changed Her Brain by Barbara Arrowsmith-Young

I was out with a friend and came across the book “The woman who changed her brain” and thought it looked really interesting. I was in the second year of my psychology degree and was interested in everything to do with the brain. I picked up the book, and thought how incredible this lady was; Barbara Arrowsmith-young. She literally proved everyone wrong, and created cognitive exercises to fix her own brain. An incredible woman, I can’t wait to read this story.

Goodreads: 3.8/5

 

What Books are you currently reading?

Any Books on your to read list?

Love always, B x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

